top of page
  • Writer's pictureellietheveggie

Mushroom Stroganoff



MUSHROOM STROGANOFF:

I think this has become my absolute fave meal to make and eat after having only made it for the first time in December. You can really dress it up and make it quite a put together classy dinner meal or you can make it a more casual pasta sauce.

I love serving this on peppery mashed potato 🥔, with fusili or spaghetti or like this on a bed of soft rice. With mashed potato this becomes a super hearty winter meal.

I have to admit that I am not sure about how authentic this recipe will be but I can definitely say it is really rather good, all those flavours just sing!


Ingredients:


- 1 red onion (although I can imagine shallots would go very nicely)

- 4 garlic cloves

- Lotsa mushrooms (I would say about half a supermarket box per person as they do shrink)

- Vegetable broth

- Miso paste

- White wine (optional)

- Soy cream

- Wholegrain mustard

- juice of 1/ 2 of a Lemon

- Rice (1/2 a cup per person)

- or if making with mashed potato then potatoes, dairy free milk, margarine

- or if making with pasta then pasta (I say between 100g to 200g per person)

- Paprika powder

- Garlic granules

- Pepper

- Salt

- Olive oil


Recipe:

To make this I finely sliced one whole red onion and four cloves of garlic. i then washed my mushrooms and sliced them to have them ready.

Into a pan with some olive oil I added my sliced red onion until translucent. I then added my crushed garlic, sauteed that for a bit and then added my sliced mushrooms.

In the meantime you can boil your rice, pasta or make the mashed potato (I make it by over boiling potatoes, then removing the water and then mashing them with a potato masher whilst adding butter/maragine, milk and salt and pepper).

Once my mushrooms have browned and have started to let off their own juices (you can splash some white wine if you want at this stage over the shrooms), I then added paprika powder, some wholegrain mustard about five table spoons (but I always add more towards the end, but I like it strong) and about half a cup of vegetable broth (you can always add more as you go along) and let that simmer down and adding some soy cream. Then whilst stirring i add lots more paprika powder (but you can season to your taste), about one full table spoon of miso paste, pepper and salt and let those flavours mix.





Right at the end I taste a spoonful to see if I am missing something or want more acidity or a different flavour such as pepper, I then squeeze half a lemon on top. And voila serve on top of a bed of rice, pasta or mashed potato.

This is full of deep and rich flavours making it quite an intense and divine culinary experience but at the same time can be made more simply for just a weekday dinner.


Enjoy!


much love,


Ellie


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page