top of page
  • Writer's pictureellietheveggie

Vegan Cannelloni


For Two

 

Ingredients:


Cannelloni pasta (I find a box is enough for 4 people and I'd say we have a good appetite, so I use half a box for two people).

Tomato sauce (out of a jar or homemade)

and some sort of vegan grated cheese if you want to sprinkle some on top


For the filling:


- spinach (3/4 of a big bag full so roughly 180g)

- garlic I used 6 cloves

- one block firm tofu

- some sort of vegan cream, I used Oatly creme fraiche, you can make your own with soaked cashews

- half a lemon juice

- salt

- pepper

- nutritional yeast



 

Method:



1. First I crumble my tofu into my blender, add the cream, nutritional yeast, lemon juice and salt and pepper and blend that up.





2. Then I add my minced garlic to a pan with olive oil. After having washed my spinach I add it to the pan to let it wilt, whilst adding salt and pepper. To add some more protein (nobody gonna be deficient here as we already have tofu which is loaded with protein) I add last minute some frozen peas to the pan and heat them up.












3. Then I added my spinach to the cream into my blender and blitzed that up.

4. To a ceramic/ glass baking dish I added half a cup of water. Then the next bit requires skill (which I do not have so lets say this got messsay), you scoop the green mixture into the tube pasta with either a spoon by kinda rocking the pasta forwards and backwards whilst covering one hole with your thumb or with a piping bag. You lay them into the dish side by side

5. I layered my tomato sauce on top (either made on the side or from a glass) and some basil leaves for flavour and then later to garnish


6. pop in the oven at gas mark 6/ 200 degrees for 30 mins with aluminium foil on top

7. add cheese and remove foil and add for another 5 mins


Buon appetito!



24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page